Nostalgia (2 new pieces)

Lately I have been having many swaying emotions.  One moment I am thinking about the future whereas the next I am being brought back to a memory from my past.  What triggers these memories? Well for one part, its my obsessive nature to look at old photos from the places ive traveled and the people ive met along the way.  Nostalgia can be both good as well as bad.  We all make out the past to be something flawless, when in reality as Doug Larson says “nostalgia is a device that removes the ruts and potholes from memory lane.”..

“It is a curious emotion, this certain homesickness I have in mind. With Americans, it is a national trait, as native to us as the rollercoaster or the jukebox. It is no simple longing for the home town or country of our birth. The emotion is Janus-faced: we are torn between a nostalgia for the familiar and an urge for the foreign and strange. As often as not, we are homesick most for the places we have never known.”

Rather then taking the approach of getting all teary eyed thinking about past memories, I turned to my art.  With my art I took nostalgia down the uplifting path… music, television and movies. What better way to walk down memory lane, then to stare at the daffy face of Steve Urkel.  Images and music illicit a feeling of the “good old days” 

About this entry